The people, places and things that make Dublin special.

Tucked away on Lincoln place, in the heart of Dublin’s south inner city, is Sweny’s pharmacy. It was made famous by the James Joyce novel, Ulysses. Sweny’s is no longer a working pharmacy, but a key part of Dublin’s culture and nostalgia. It’s run by volunteers to maintain its original 1850’s Victorian style – made obvious by the mahogany counter and old glass cabinets outlining the room. Shelves of unopened medicine bottles and old photographs sit in the cabinets, still waiting to be collected. The original chemists sign is still intact, proving that this place has not lost its charm!

dublin-treasures-swenys-pharmacy_0122_880x620

It was originally built in 1847 as a GP’s consulting room and became a pharmacy in 1853. It’s within 100 yards of the birthplace of Oscar Wilde and in 1904, the young James Joyce called to this very store. In Ulysses, Leopold Bloom, the fictional character, visits Sweny’s pharmacy to pick up a lotion for his wife, Molly. He consults with Frederick William Sweny (the pharmacist at the time) in such detail that you could almost recreate the prescription he describes. Bloom admires the bottles of potions, taking in his surroundings in descriptive detail: “He waited by the counter, inhaling the keen reek of drugs, the dusty dry smell of sponges and loofahs. Lot of time taken up telling your aches and pains.” While waiting for the pharmacist, Bloom smells the lemon soap on the counter and decides to take a bar with him. The soap becomes a key part of his famous journey that is re-created every year on June 16th – Bloomsday. Sweny’s is also 50 yards from the location where James Joyce was stood up by Nora Barnacle. “On Bloomsday this place is swarming with people, you’d hardly fit in the door. People stop to buy some lemon soap along the way, it’s like a pilgrimage” notes Davy, a volunteer working in Sweny’s.

It became a protected property last year, maintained by the volunteers. There are about 20 volunteers, each working different shifts throughout the week. dublin-treasures-swenys-pharmacy_0122_360x420Joyce’s works are treasured here, with daily readings by the volunteers and visitors. The volunteers, often wearing the white chemists coat, read aloud and remember romantic Dublin in the words of James Joyce. Visitors can read a page aloud and pass the book around the room. It’s not just tourists who come here, but regulars too. Stools are plotted around the room for visitors to sit, read and have a chat afterwards, creating a welcoming atmosphere.

Unopened medicine bottles sit on shelves, ready to be curiously admired. A selection of second-hand books fill the space in the centre of the room, waiting to be browsed. Oh, and not to forget, there’s the lemon-scented soap on the counter, the very soap that made the shop famous!

Genevieve is a sunset child from the west of Ireland, now living and working in Dublin as an advertising creative. She doodles, she dreams, she travels, she schemes.

Dublin Treasures – Hodges Figgis

Hodges Figgis is Ireland’s oldest bookshop, celebrating its 250th birthday in 2018. This iconic store has moved around a lot since its founding in 1768, from Skinners Row, to Nassau Street and on to Dawson Street. But it has always been home for Dublin’s booklovers. We spoke to Bookstore Manager, Tony Hayes to get to the bottom of what makes Dublin’s oldest bookshop a Dublin Treasure. Tony has worked in the book trade since the ‘70s and has in recent years returned to Hodges Figgis. Hodges Figgis’ iconic storefront would not look out of place in J.K. Rowling’s Diagon Alley and the magic do

Read More

Dublin Canvas

A series of colourful traffic signal boxes has added art to the streets of Dublin city as part of the Dublin Canvas project. It’s probably the first time most of us have even noticed these boxes; their old dull appearance was nothing to admire. Now works of art, they showcase the artistic talents of people across Dublin. Dublin Canvas is a community street art project, its main goal to make the city more beautiful, and it has definitely achieved it. David Murtagh, the project coordinator has given us some background on the project. Dublin.ie: When did the project start? David: The project started in 2013.

Read More

Dublin Treasures – Casino at Marino

James Caulfeild, the 1st Earl of Charlemont, was a man who did things with style, and then some. His townhouse on Parnell St, which now houses the Hugh Lane Art Gallery, reflected his elegant, artistic nature, and was initially designed as an adornment to the city, where paintings by Rembrandt and Titian hung. When he embarked upon his Grand Tour - the 18th century equivalent of a gap year - he spent a rather impressive 9 years taking in the delights of Italy, Turkey, Greece and Egypt and became close friends with the future King of Sardinia. As you do.

Read More