Whilst Gaelic Games are the most popular sport in the country, soccer, or football as it’s commonly known here, would be a close second. The Football Association of Ireland (FAI) are the governing body and oversee domestic leagues and national teams. Football is especially popular in urban areas and in 2017/2018 the Leinster Senior League (LSL) for adults operated 23 divisions. The Dublin and District Schoolboys League (DDSL), founded in 1943, is affiliated with more than 200 clubs and operates divisions from boys and girls under 7 right up to under 18s.

The top tiers of football in Ireland are known as the SSE Airtricity League with two divisions: The Premier Division and the First Division. There are three Dublin teams in the Premier Division: Bohemians, Shamrock Rovers and St Patrick’s Athletic. There are three Dublin teams in the First Division: Cabinteely, Shelbourne and UCD. At international level, the Republic of Ireland field twenty teams with the Irish senior men’s and women’s being the most well known.

Football Association of Ireland (FAI)

The governing body of football in Ireland. Responsible for the domestic game and the various international teams at all levels.


SSE Airtricity League

Encompassing the Premier Division and the First Division consisting of 20 clubs and a number of other competitions. Matches run from March until November each year.


Shamrock Rovers F.C.

Shamrock Rovers are the most successful football club in Ireland with a record 17 league titles and 24 FAI cups.


Bohemian F.C.

Established in 1890 and commonly known as Bohs. Their home ground is Dalymount Park in Phibsborough on Dublin's northside.


Shelbourne F.C.

Established in 1895 and commonly known as Shels. Their home ground is Tolka Park on Dublin's northside.


St Patrick’s Athletic F.C.

Established in 1929 and commonly known as Pats or the Saints. Their home ground is Richmond Park in Inchicore.


Ireland v Romania, Italia 90 Penalties

Entire Penalty Shoot Out Between Ireland and Romania, from the World Cup in Italia 90

Around the Web

Dublin District Schoolboy League (DDSL)

Founded in 1943, is affiliated with more than 200 clubs and operates divisions from boys and girls under 7 right up to under 18s.


Leinster Senior League (LSL)

The Leinster Senior League (LSL) is divided into 23 Divisions.


Aviva Stadium

Formerly known as Lansdowne Road, Aviva Stadium is Ireland's home for international soccer and rugby matches.