Trinity Evening Lecture Series: English Literature 2017

Trinity Evening Lecture Series: English Literature 2017

Trinity College, Tuesday 10th October - Tuesday 12th December 2017

This course will provide an introduction to major authors of poetry, drama and prose through close examination of selected texts, chosen from among those prescribed for the Leaving Certificate. The course will be of special interest to teachers and pupils preparing for the examination but the lectures will be directed towards a more general audience as well.

Date: There will be ten weekly lectures beginning on Tuesday, 10 October 2017

Time: All lectures take place from 7 pm to 8 pm

Venue: All lectures take place in the Edmund Burke Theatre, Arts Building, Trinity College Dublin

• Tuesday 10 October 2017
Shakespeare, King Lear by Ema Vyroubalova

• Tuesday 17 October 2017 F. Scott Fitzgerald, The Great Gatsby by Stephen Matterson

• Tuesday 24 October 2017 Eavan Boland, Selected Poetry by Rosie Lavan

• Tuesday 31 October 2017 Emily Brontë, Wuthering Heights by Jane Carroll

• Tuesday 7 November 2017 Henrik Ibsen, A Doll’s House by Julie Bates

• Tuesday 14 November 2017 John Keats, Selected Poetry by Tom Walker

• Tuesday 21 November 2017 George Orwell, 1984 by Mark Sweetnam

• Tuesday 28 November 2017 Robert Frost, Selected Poetry by Stephen Matterson

• Tuesday 5 December 2017
Paul Durcan, Selected Poetry by Philip Coleman

• Tuesday 12 December 2017
Shakespeare, King Lear by Ema Vyroubalova (Repeat Lecture)

€60 for the entire series. Indivdual lectures are €7 each.


Date:
Tuesday 10th October - Tuesday 12th December 2017
Time:
7.00pm
Price:
€7 - €60
Address:
Trinity College, Dublin, Ireland

Google Map of Trinity College, Dublin, Ireland